Alain Perron


ALAIN PERRON studied oboe and composition in Trois-Rivières and Quebec City. He obtained his Masters Degree at Laval University under the supervision of François Morel. He received two prestigious grants, one from SSHRC (Canada) and one from FCAR (Québec), to study with the renowned composer and conductor Krzysztof Penderecki at the Academy of Music in Cracow, Poland, where he received his doctorate in 1996.

Dr. Perron has received numerous first prizes for his compositions for orchestra, including the Sir Ernest MacMillan Prize from SOCAN, the du Maurier New Music Festival in Winnipeg and the Mosaïco Music Festival Prize in Korea. He has also received many commissions from prestigious orchestras and ensembles such as the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (Montréal), the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, Jugendkammerorchester (Stuttgart), the Orchestre symphonique de Sherbrooke, the Claudel String Quartet, the Sinfonia de Lanaudière, the Molinari String Quartet, the National Arts Centre Orchestra (Ottawa), the Nouvel Ensemble à Cordes de Québec, the Nelligan Quartet, Rocco Parisi (Italy), the Orchestre symphonique du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, the National Youth Choir, the Rubbing Stone Ensemble, the Ensemble Transmission (Montreal), the Trio Fibonacci (Montreal), Sixtrum (Montreal), the Bozzini String Quartet (Montreal) and several from the Société Radio-Canada and CBC.

Many of Perron’s works have been recorded on CD, and played in several countries throughout Europe, Asia and the former Soviet Union. In addition, he also pursues an active career as conductor and performer (oboe and English horn). He is the founder and artistic director of Le Nouvel Ensemble à Cordes de Québec (NEC). Since 2002 he has been teaching composition at the University of Regina where he is also the Music Director of the University Orchestra and the U of R New Music Ensemble. In 2009 and 2011, he has been nominated for the Western Canadian Music Awards category «Classical Composition of the Year».